(717) 538-1470


In an effort to cultivate the next generation of Democratic leaders, the Hempfield Area Democratic Committee established the Paul and Jan Wright Senior Scholarship in 2013 to honor a high school senior, residing in the Hempfield school district, who best exemplifies Democratic ideals.

The scholarship is named for Paul and Jan Wright, longtime members of the Hempfield Area Democratic Committee.

The winner of this award must write an essay on Democratic principles and sit for a brief interview with the HADC Youth Engagement Committee.  Applicants can be students at any Lancaster County high school, but must be a resident in the Hempfield School District.  Winners of the scholarship receive $500 to use toward their college expenses.

Interested students can download an application here.

Deadline for 2021 applications is February 22, 2021.

Previous winners:

2020 Katie Yoder, Hempfield High School (Bridgewater College)

2019   Sinclaire Schuetze, Hempfield High School (Wellesley College)

2018   Caroline Ulrich, Hempfield High School (Franklin & Marshall College)

2017    Mary Thomas, Hempfield High School (Bloomsburg University)

2016    Andrew DeBord, Lancaster Catholic High School (University of Delaware)

2015    Lara Dailey, Linden Hall (Millersville University)

2014    Dayna Horsey, Hempfield High School (Swarthmore College)

2013    Madison Pontz, Lancaster Country Day School (George Washington University)